> This page is for Data Protection.

> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL.
> For a complete documentation index, see https://docs.eon.io/llms.txt.
> For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://docs.eon.io/_mcp/server.

# Manage Source Accounts

This article explains how to connect, disconnect, and delete source accounts in Eon.

For background on how Eon handles disconnected and deleted source accounts, see [About Source Accounts].

## Connect a source account

To connect a source account, follow the instructions for your provider:

* [AWS: Connect Source Accounts]

* [Azure: Connect Source Subscriptions]

* [GCP: Connect Source Projects]

* [Google Workspace: Connect Source Workspaces]

* [Microsoft 365: Connect Source Tenants]

## Disconnect a source account

Before disconnecting a source account, make sure you understand how Eon handles its resources and snapshots afterward.
For details, see [Disconnected source accounts].

To disconnect a source account:

1. In the respective source account page, click  (Actions) for the account you want to disconnect, and then click **Disconnect**.
   A confirmation dialog opens.

2. To confirm, click **Disconnect**.
   The account's status changes to **Disconnected**.

> **Info**
>
> You can choose whether to keep or delete the permissions you granted Eon when you connected the source account.
> If you delete them, you'll need to reinstall the permissions if you want to reconnect the account later.

Your source account is now disconnected from Eon, and Eon stops discovering and backing up your source resources.
You can continue to explore and restore snapshots from the disconnected account until they expire.

## Delete a source account

You can permanently delete a source account from Eon after disconnecting it and waiting for its Eon snapshots to expire.
For details on what's removed and what's preserved, see [Deleted source accounts].

The **Delete** option in your source accounts page becomes available only when the source account is already disconnected or has insufficient permissions, and all snapshots have expired.

To delete a source account:

1. In your source accounts page, click  (Actions) for the account you want to delete, and then click **Delete**.
   A confirmation dialog opens.

2. To confirm, click **Delete**.

The account is removed from your source account list.
Backup jobs that ran for the account remain in your job history with the original name preserved.

## See also

* [About Source Accounts]

* [AWS: Permissions Deployment Files]

* [Azure: Permissions Deployment Files]

* [GCP: Permissions Deployment Files]

[About Source Accounts]: /data-protection/backup-and-protection/backup-configuration/source-accounts/about-source-accounts

[Disconnected source accounts]: /data-protection/backup-and-protection/backup-configuration/source-accounts/about-source-accounts#disconnected-source-accounts

[Deleted source accounts]: /data-protection/backup-and-protection/backup-configuration/source-accounts/about-source-accounts#deleted-source-accounts

[AWS: Connect Source Accounts]: /data-protection/cloud-workloads/aws/source-accounts/aws-connect-source-accounts

[Azure: Connect Source Subscriptions]: /data-protection/cloud-workloads/azure/source-subscriptions/azure-connect-source-subscriptions

[GCP: Connect Source Projects]: /data-protection/cloud-workloads/gcp/source-projects/gcp-connect-source-projects

[Google Workspace: Connect Source Workspaces]: /data-protection/saas-workloads/google-workspace/connections/connect-source-workspaces

[Microsoft 365: Connect Source Tenants]: /data-protection/saas-workloads/microsoft-365/connections/connect-source-tenants

[AWS: Permissions Deployment Files]: /data-protection/cloud-workloads/aws/permissions/aws-permissions-deployment-files

[Azure: Permissions Deployment Files]: /data-protection/cloud-workloads/azure/permissions/azure-permissions-deployment-files

[GCP: Permissions Deployment Files]: /data-protection/cloud-workloads/gcp/permissions/gcp-permissions-deployment-files

[backup policies]: /data-protection/backup-and-protection/backup-configuration/backup-policies/about-backup-policies