Azure Storage Accounts: Restore a Blob Container
Who can use this feature
Anyone with these permissions: Restore resources
This article explains how to restore an Azure Blob Storage container from your Eon snapshots.
Restore a container
Before you start
Before you restore a container, make sure:
-
A restore account has been connected to your Eon account.
-
The Azure restore subscription contains a storage account to restore to.
Find the snapshot you want to restore
-
In your inventory, select the Azure storage account you want to restore. The Resource details panel opens.
-
Click the Eon snapshots tab. You’ll see a calendar view with colored dots on the days when snapshots were taken. There can be more than one snapshot per day.
When you click a day, a list of Eon snapshots taken that day is displayed below the calendar.
-
When you find the snapshot you want to restore, click Restore. The Restore Storage Account wizard opens.
Choose the restore account
In the Restore Storage Account wizard, you’re taken through a two-step process. The first step is to choose a restore account.
Choose the subscription you want to restore to, and then click Next.
Set the restored container details
In the Configuration step, you’ll set the restored data details.
-
Select the destination Storage account you want the data restored to.
-
Select the destination Container. You can select an existing container, or choose Use source containers to restore to the original container names from the snapshot.
-
If you select a specific container, all blobs from all source containers are restored into that single container.
-
If you choose Use source containers, Eon recreates the original container names on the destination storage account. If a container with the same name already exists, blobs are restored into the existing container.
-
-
Optionally, you can provide a Prefix if you want to restore the data to a specific location in the container. If you don’t provide a prefix, the data is restored to the container root.
If there are naming conflicts with existing blobs, Eon overwrites the existing data. Use a unique prefix to avoid overwrites.
-
Click Restore to start the asynchronous restore job.
Monitor the restore job
You can see your list of restore jobs on the Restore jobs tab in the Jobs page.
After the job is completed, the status changes to SUCCESS, and you can work with the restored data as normal.