MongoDB: Restore a Database
Who can use this feature
Anyone with these permissions: Restore resources
This article explains how to restore one or more selected databases from a MongoDB Atlas snapshot. Use this procedure when you need to bring back specific databases without restoring the entire cluster.
Restore a database
Before you start
Before you restore, make sure a MongoDB Atlas restore project has been connected to your Eon account, with an associated AWS restore account in the Connected state.
Find the snapshot you want to restore
-
In your inventory, select the MongoDB Atlas cluster you want to restore from. The Resource Details drawer opens.
-
Click the Eon snapshots tab. You’ll see a calendar view with colored dots on the days when snapshots were taken. There can be more than one snapshot per day.
When you click a day, a list of Eon snapshots taken that day is displayed below the calendar.
-
Select the snapshot you want to restore, and then click Restore. The Restore MongoDB Atlas Cluster wizard opens.
Choose the restore account
Choose the MongoDB Atlas restore project you want to restore the databases into, and then click Next.
Configure the destination
In the Configuration step:
-
Under Cluster destination, choose where to restore the databases:
-
Create a new cluster: Eon provisions a new Atlas cluster in the selected restore project.
-
Use an existing cluster: Eon writes the database data to a cluster that already exists in the restore project.
-
-
Set the Cluster name:
-
For a new cluster, enter the name of the cluster Eon should create.
-
For an existing cluster, choose the cluster from the dropdown list.
-
Choose the databases to restore
-
In the Restore granularity section, choose Selected databases.
-
Under Databases to restore, choose the databases to include from the autocomplete list. You can type to search the list or click to select. Each selected database has a checkbox next to it; clear a checkbox to remove a database from the selection.
Start the restore job
Click Restore to start the asynchronous restore job.
You can see your list of restore jobs on the Restore jobs tab in the Jobs page.
After the job is completed, the status changes to SUCCESS, and the selected databases are available on the destination cluster.