Skip to navigation

Compute Engine: Restore a Disk

Who can use this feature

Anyone with these permissions: Restore resources

This article explains how to restore an EBS volume from your Eon snapshots.

Restore the disk

Before you start

Before you restore a volume, make sure:

1

Find the snapshot you want to restore

  1. In your inventory, select the Compute Engine resource whose disk you want to restore. The Resource Details panel opens.

  2. Click the Eon snapshots tab. You’ll see a calendar view with colored dots on the days when snapshots were taken. There can be more than one snapshot per day.

    When you click a day, a list of Eon snapshots taken that day is displayed below the calendar.

  3. Expand the snapshot you want to restore. Click Specific disk, select the disk you want to restore, and then click Restore. The Restore Disk wizard opens.

2

Choose the restore account

In the Restore Disk wizard, you’re taken through a two-step process. The first step is to choose a restore account.

Choose the cloud account you want to restore the disk to, and then click Next.

3

Set the restored disk details

In the Configuration step, you’ll set the restored disk details.

  1. Choose a Region and Zone to deploy the restored disk to.

  2. Choose whether to encrypt the disk.

    To encrypt, turn Encrypt this resource on, then select a Customer-managed encryption key (CMEK) that grants access to Eon.

  3. Choose whether to turn Keep original settings on or off.

    • If you leave Keep original settings on, the restored disk retains the same settings as the original disk.

    • If you turn it off, you can customize the disk’s Name, Type, and Size.

  4. If you want to retain the labels that were present when the snapshot was taken, turn Keep original labels on. Otherwise, turn Keep original labels off.

    In both cases, the restored disk is labeled with eon-restore=true. Labels with the eon- prefix aren’t included in the original labels because Eon uses this prefix for internal operations.

4

Start the restore job

Click Start to start the asynchronous restore job.

You can see your list of restore jobs on the Restore jobs tab in the Jobs page.

After the job is completed, the status changes to SUCCESS, and you can work with the restored disk as normal.