Azure VM: Restore a VM
Who can use this feature
Anyone with these permissions: Restore resources
This article explains how to restore an Azure virtual machine (VM) from your Eon snapshots.
This procedure applies to both Azure Virtual Machines and SQL Server on Azure Virtual Machines. Both resource types use the same restore wizard.
Restore the VM
Before you start
Before you restore an Azure VM, make sure:
- A restore account has been connected to your Eon account.
Find the snapshot you want to restore
-
In your inventory, select the Azure VM you want to restore. The Resource details panel opens.
-
Click the Eon snapshots tab. You’ll see a calendar view with colored dots on the days when snapshots were taken. There can be more than one snapshot per day.
When you click a day, a list of Eon snapshots taken that day is displayed below the calendar.
-
Expand the snapshot you want to restore. Click Instance, and then click Restore. The Restore virtual machine wizard opens.
Choose the restore account
In the Restore virtual machine wizard, you’re taken through a three-step process. The first step is to choose a restore account.
Choose the subscription you want to restore to, and then click Next.
Set the instance details
In the Instance configuration step, you’ll set the instance details.
-
Enter a VM name for the restored VM.
-
Choose a Region to deploy the restored VM to.
-
Choose a Resource group to deploy the restored VM to.
-
Configure the Network interface. You can select an existing network interface, or create a new one. If you create a new network interface, you’ll need to select or create a virtual network and subnet.
-
Choose the Virtual machine size. You can keep the original VM size, or select a different size. If the original size isn’t available in the selected region, you must select a different size. For information on available options, see Azure VM sizes from Microsoft.
-
If you want to retain the tags that were present when the snapshot was taken, turn Keep original tags on. Otherwise, turn Keep original tags off.
-
If you want the VM to start automatically after the restore completes, turn Start instance after restore on.
-
Click Next.
Set details for the attached disks
In this step of the wizard, you’ll set the disk settings and tags for the disks attached to the VM. Expand individual disks to show disk-specific settings.
Disk settings
For each disk, you can keep the original disk settings, or you can customize the disk’s name, type, tier, and size.
Tags
Each disk has its own tags, independent of the VM-level tags in the previous step. If you want to retain the tags that were present when the snapshot was taken, turn Keep original tags on. Otherwise, turn Keep original tags off.
Start the restore job
Click Restore to start the asynchronous restore job.
You can see your list of restore jobs on the Restore jobs tab in the Jobs page.
After the job is completed, the status changes to SUCCESS, and you can work with the restored VM as normal.