Skip to navigation
Who can use this feature

Anyone with these permissions: Restore resources

This article explains how to restore an Azure managed disk from your Eon snapshots.

This procedure applies to both Azure Virtual Machines and SQL Server on Azure Virtual Machines. Both resource types use the same restore wizard.

Restore the disk

Before you start

Before you restore an Azure disk, make sure:

1

Find the snapshot you want to restore

  1. In your inventory, select the Azure VM whose disk you want to restore. The Resource details panel opens.

  2. Click the Eon snapshots tab. You’ll see a calendar view with colored dots on the days when snapshots were taken. There can be more than one snapshot per day.

    When you click a day, a list of Eon snapshots taken that day is displayed below the calendar.

  3. Expand the snapshot you want to restore. Click Specific disk, select the disk you want to restore, and then click Restore. The Restore Disk wizard opens.

2

Choose the restore account

In the Restore Disk wizard, you’re taken through a two-step process. The first step is to choose a restore account.

Choose the subscription you want to restore the disk to, and then click Next.

3

Set the restored disk details

In the Disk configuration step, you’ll set the restored disk details.

  1. Choose a Region to deploy the restored disk to.

  2. Choose a Resource group to deploy the restored disk to.

  3. Choose whether to turn Keep original settings on or off.

    • If you leave Keep original settings on, the restored disk retains the same settings as the original disk.

    • If you turn it off, you can customize the disk’s Name.

  4. If you want to retain the tags that were present when the snapshot was taken, turn Keep original tags on. Otherwise, turn Keep original tags off.

4

Start the restore job

Click Restore to start the asynchronous restore job.

You can see your list of restore jobs on the Restore jobs tab in the Jobs page.

After the job is completed, the status changes to SUCCESS, and you can work with the restored disk as normal.

See also